Skip to main content

BHSc Library Research Guide

BHSc Librarian

Denise Smith

Background Information

Finding background information can help you:

  • Develop or refine your research question
  • Identify key terms for your topic(s)
  • Point you toward significant contributors to the existing body of research 

What's my topic?

Outline your topic by asking questions like:

  • Who does this topic concern?
  • What are the components of this topic?
  • What are the chronological limitations of this topic?
  • Does this topic refer to a specific geographical location?
  • What aspects of the topic should be considered? Historical? Sociological? Technological? Business?
  • Why is this topic important?

Check out this handy tutorial to learn about the research cycle.

Browse the list below for some popular resources used for background information.

Anatomy

Pathology

eBook Collections

Full-text search of a wide variety of health-related textbooks

Evidence-Based Texts

Electronic Resources

Patient Education

eBook Collections

Full-text search of a wide variety of health-related textbooks

Evidence-Based Texts

Meta-Search

Searches multiple health databases simultaneously

Drug Information

Electronic Resources

eBook Collections

Full-text search of a wide variety of health-related textbooks

Evidence-Based Texts

Procedures

eBook Collections

Full-text search of a wide variety of health-related textbooks

More from HSL

Meta-Search

Searches multiple health databases simultaneously

Lab Values/Normal Values