This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Nursing Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Sciences Library

Nursing Resources  

Last Updated: Aug 28, 2014 URL: http://hsl.mcmaster.libguides.com/nursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome the the Health Sciences Library's Guide to Nursing Resources. McMaster's Faculty of Health Sciences places a strong focus on Problem-Based Learning (PBL) and Evidence-Informed Decision Making (EIDM), both of which require students to have a strong understanding of the information resources available through the library.  

When seeking health information, it is always best to take a systematic approach.  It is a process that involves identifying information needs in the form of a question, deciding which resources might hold the answer, and developing a search strategy appropriate to capturing the necessary information.

Whether your needs relate to coursework, clinical situations, or original research, this guide will help support the effective and efficient retrieval of such information.  

Using This Guide

Forming QuestionsThis tab will help you determine exaclty what your information needs are and express them as a question.

Background & 6S/Foreground Info - Depending on the type of question you end up with, these tabs will recommend the best resources to find the answer.

Further Research - This tab is tailored to the information needs of nurses working on research projects (e.g Grey Literature Resources, Interdisciplinary Databases, Search Tools, etc.)

ClinicalThis tab contains tools and resources useful to nurses working in clincal settings (e.g. Mobile Apps, Free Online Resources, Entry to Practice Competencies, etc.)

Nursing Theory - This tab covers information relating to the various theoretical frameworks underlying nursing research and practice.  

We believe the best way to learn is through participation in your own education.  If you have any suggestions for additions to this guide, please contact Laura Banfield.

 

Off-Campus Access

LibAccess logo

The small lock icon LibAccess lock icon beside a link indicates this is an online library resource. You have to login to LibAccess when off-campus to access the full-text articles and videos. When you click on the resource link from off-campus you'll be redirected to a login page. 

 

EIDM: Nursing at McMaster

 

  

Evidence-Informed Decision Making (EIDM) is a broad concept referring to the incorporation of valid and relevant external evidence during the decision making process.

In nursing, such evidence is most commonly found in high-quality research studies that can be applied to the specific patient or population being considered.  

As McMaster Nursing students, the concept of EIDM runs through all aspects of your academic curriculum: from theory to research to clinical decision-making and beyond.

The resources available at the Health Sciences Library can help you find the best available evidence to support these processes, but this is only one piece of the EIDM puzzle (See Fig. 1)

 

EIDM: Just for Fun!

Some Studies That I Like to Quote by James McCormack

Viva La Evidence! by James McCormack

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Laura Banfield
Contact Info
Tel: 905 525-9140 ext. 20239
banfie@mcmaster.ca
Liaison for:
School of Nursing, Midwifery Education Program, Masters Progam in Global Health

New to Searching?

Check out these helpful HSL tutorials for tips on conducting an effective and efficient search!

  • Database Fundamentals
    A primer on the foundations of database searching
  • CINAHL
    Searching the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) database
  • OVID Medline
    Searching the biomedical database Medline, using the OVID search interface
© McMaster University | 1280 Main Street West | Hamilton, Ontario L8S4L8 | 905-525-9140 | Contact Us | Terms of Use & Privacy Policy
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip